inspiremewithwords

Listen to this and be inspired….

Poem: Footprints in the Sand

on January 13, 2012

 

Insert Footprints Poem Here

Footprints

One night a man had a dream. He dreamed he was walking along the beach with God.

Across the sky flashed scenes from his life. For each scene he noticed two sets of footprints in the sand. One set belonged to  him and one was God’s.

When the last scene of his life flashed before him, he looked back at the footprints in the sand.

He noticed that many times in his life there was only one set of footprints.

He also noticed that it happened at the very lowest and saddest times of his life.

This really bothered him and he questioned God about it.

“God, you said that once I decided to follow you, you’d walk with me all the way. But I noticed that during the most troublesome times in my life, there was only one set of footprints. I don’t understand why you would leave me when I needed you most.”

God replied:

“My precious child, I love you and I would never leave you. During those times, when you only say one set of footprints, was when I carried you.”

-Anonymous (but has also been attributed to different authors)

I love this poem. Sometimes we don’t see God in our lives and that is the times we need Him most. This simple poem tells us that if we let Him, God will carry us through those tough times so that we will once again see Him in our life and walk with Him side by side. The imagery is beautiful in here but the message is poignant. This poem will definitely get us through the tough times.

 

Leave a Reply

