inspiremewithwords

Listen to this and be inspired….

Is there Human Hair in Your Bread?

on March 2, 2012
English: Bread from India

Image via Wikipedia

A friend informed me that human hair is used as a dough conditioner in making some bread.

“That is sold in the United States?” I asked.

“Yes,” she told me.

“Ewwwwwwwwwww. I don’t believe that.”

Next stop, an online search. Verdict: It’s actually true.

Human hair has a protein in it called l-cystine that can be used as a dough conditioner. I can’t believe that this doesn’t get more press. It is absolutely disgusting that this would be an ingredient in our food. It’s also sad, that nowadays, we never know exactly what we are eating or what is in our food. In some breads I examined in the market after finding this out, I noticed that lots of the ingredients said “dough conditioners” without saying what those conditioners were (could l-cystine be in there or maybe even something more gross?).

My solution: I bought the bread at Whole Foods. It boasts all natural ingredients you can read on the back.

Other great links on this topic:

http://www.vrg.org/blog/2011/03/09/l-cysteine-in-bread-products-still-mostly-sourced-from-human-hair-duck-feathers-hog-hair/

http://blogs.discovery.com/dfh-sara-novak/2012/01/common-bread-ingredient-l-cysteine-derived-from-human-hair.html

http://www.naturalnews.com/032718_L-cysteine_commercial_bread.html

2 responses to “Is there Human Hair in Your Bread?

  1. mikereverb says:

    I wondered why my tongue was growing a beard.

    Very intriguing and surprising fact. Doesn’t bother me one bit, mind you, but I can see why it would certainly gross some people out.

    Thanks for sharing! :)

  2. Samantha says:

    For further investigation. Here are the ingredients that Whole Foods bans from their market. I’m hoping to do more research and discover what’s in these products and why they are banned. I will keep everyone posted: http://www.wholefoodsmarket.com/products/unacceptable-ingredients.php.

    Thank you Mike for liking this post and for your comment!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

